Featured Vendors Sunday | The Blooming Fig Tree

For me to wait to share this feature with you was torture!! Seriously, Becca is so adorable and her work is impressive. You see the hard work and dedication in every piece she makes and the love she has for her children far exceed that for her work, which is a blessing to find in this day and age! So check out more of Becca’s work, please check out her Etsy Shop and follow her on Facebook!!

1. Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’ve been an artist my whole life and although I studied art studio in college but it’s been years since I’ve been creatively fulfilled – until now. My love, rather my obsession, with flowers has been constant. I’m an ardent gardener and am one of those crazy ladies who talks to her plants. Ever since I’ve known how to draw my subject has always flowers. My love affair with painting was also focused on flowers. It seems only fitting that now I’ve taken on a tangible technique with flowers. I’m thrilled to see where this new endeavor may lead me.

2. Apart from creating things, what do you do?

I’m a stay at home mom of two beautiful kids. My son, Graham, is three and my daughter Emmalyn just turned one. They are the sweetest, most loving, charismatic, and active children. The two of them keep me on my toes to say the least. Before having kids I was trained to be an elementary school teacher which I loved but I couldn’t imagine leaving my kids to go back anytime soon.

3. Whatʼs the most important question a customer/client should ask you when considering purchasing from you?

The most important question will vary by each individual customer and their needs. I do find that the question I’m asked most often is “What sizes are your headbands?” I can really make my stretchy headbands fit any size newborn through teen.

4. Whatʼs the most memorable custom order youʼve created?

I’ve actually just finished it. One of my best customers is having a photo shoot done for all the kids in her extended family, which this consists of five girls and four boys. I’ve been asked to design a flower to match the dresses for the five girls. The photos that this session will bring will be so special to their family and stay with them for generations to come. I’m excited to be a part of this legacy for them.

5. What would be the title of your memoir and why?

“Joy Blooming Onward”. A little over four years ago I was pregnant with my first son, Nate. During a routine 24 week appointment my doctor was unable to find his heartbeat. Well, this had happened before and it really wasn’t a big deal except that my doctor needed to get the ultrasound to find it. My doctor was very quiet as she looked at that ultrasound machine which was turned away from my husband, Kevin, and me. Slowly she turned toward me and told us that he no longer had a heart beat. My world collapsed and my head began to spin as I took in the news. Many questions arose that never produced answers. All we knew was that we were never going to meet our son.

Kevin and I would mourn the loss of our son over the next several weeks but would never ever really stop mourning. During this time in our lives we turned to God for strength and support. Without His grace we would never have come out of our black hole. We had overwhelming peace that our son was in heaven, safe and sound with his maker. God’s goodness is so overwhelming, just three months later we found out we were pregnant again and the joy that we once held was restored. Our joy was then exceeded two years later by the birth of our daughter. We have been so blessed by the Lord and we hope and pray that our lives reflect it.

6. Where does your inspiration come from?

Most vague and generic answer: nature. Truly though, flowers are my passion and always have been. I also find inspiration in vintage fashion, and through different fabrics. Just playing with different patterned fabrics can inspire me to make an entirely new flower or  collection of flowers.

7. What does handmade mean to you?

Handmade means it comes from the heart and soul of the person who made it. A special creative process must occur for something to be deemed handmade.

8. Who has been the most influential person for your business?

My daughter, Emmalyn, without her I would never have started my business. The more I get to know her, the more girly she becomes, which is really the essence of my business. The Lord put this business on my heart and it continues to grow through His grace.

9. How would you describe your creative process?

Like most artists, I go through bursts of creative energy, usually when I’m attempting to sleep or in dreams. The next morning my journal becomes littered with drawings, descriptions and any other insights necessary to allow me to implement my newest idea.

10. If you could peek inside the studio of any artist, designer or craftsman (dead or alive), who would it be?

Georgia O’Keefe, no question about it. She’s always been such an inspiration to me, by the way she captures flowers in her own way, she makes them magical.

11. What handmade possession do you most cherish?

I actually have several. My father-in-law is an amazing wood craftsman. We have benefited greatly with much of his handmade furniture littered around our house. My favorite is the dresser in our bedroom that was our wedding gift from him. My mother-in-law made a cross stitching for my husband and me after we got married. She started working on it right after we got engaged and a year later it was finished. It’s so touching that she worked so hard and for so long to give us such a perfect gift.

12. How do you get out of your creative ruts?

I get out into nature and explore the possibilities that my lush backyard has to offer. I also turn to gardening magazines for inspiration. It’s amazing how many flowers God created, I always seem to find new ones without a problem.

13. Where would you like to be in ten years?

Great question. I would like to be wherever God takes me. My kids will always come first in my life and if they are in a place where they can be independent enough for my business to expand, I’d be elated. It would be such an amazing blessing to actually be picked up by retailers or to open my own brick and mortar store. Wherever I am, I’m sure to be happy with what I’ve been given and the chance I’ve had to share my talent, passion, and faith with the world. I hope that my flowers can bring some sunshine and joy into the lives of their owners.

Spread some blog love!

