Featured Vendor Sundays | LindO Designs Props

I’m so in love with this vendor’s prop selection! If you have the time, check out her Online Shop!! And also go “like” her on FACEBOOK!

1. Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m 30 some years old, a wife, and a mother of a 2 year old little boy named Trey.  I am originally from Michigan but have hopped around to live in Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, and New York. My husband got me back to Michigan (kicking and screaming – kidding!) where both our families are from. I went to school for architecture and love all things design related.

2. Apart from creating things, what do you do?

My day job is an architectural and interior designer…does that count as creating for this? If not, I like watching my son be crazy and enjoying the outdoor in the short summer I have in Michigan.

3. Whatʼs the most important question a customer/client should ask you when considering purchasing from you?

The size of a crown. I’m working on making them adjustable but as of now they are not. The way the crown sits on someone’s head is different. Some people want them on top and some people want them to sit just above the ears. If they are not a unique crown (usually meaning there is an antique piece on it and only one was made) I can make the crown any size they want.

4. Whatʼs the most memorable custom order youʼve created?

I sent two orders to the same photographer in Australia. Multiple crowns in each order. She requested sizes for each age (I think there were 8 crowns in total, 5 different sizes if I’m remembering correctly) which is fine, however, the different lace styles don’t have patterns that cleanly cut at similar sizes AND I was trying to specify to each age rather than each age group. I usually aim for a one size fits age group A, B, or C, etc. Needless to say the sizes were all over the place but luckily she was one of my amazing clients and made lemonade out of lemons. They all worked and she came up with some great photos. I won’t customize to specific ages again though 😉

5. What would be the title of your memoir and why?

Good Times (not the show). Lame right?  I learned the hard way life is too short. There is that saying that “if you love what you do then you never have to work a day in your life”. That’s not easy to attain but I try to cut out the crap if I can. Misery is no fun so I try to avoid it.

6. Where does your inspiration come from?

All over. Architecture, fashion, furniture, antiques, blogs, Pinterest – the usuals. Sometimes I simply have an antique piece of lace that I like and I just work with whatever materials are in front of me, putting together complimentary pieces. The goal is not to make something super ugly. Some days I miss my goal and they get tossed. Slight punch to the ego but it’s nothing a glass of wine can’t fix.

7. What does handmade mean to you?

Blood, sweat, blisters, callus’, and whining to myself. Maybe a four letter word mumbled here and there.

8. Who has been the most influential person for your business?

One of my best friends lived across the street when we were young then she moved away and we grew up etc., etc. Enter MySpace. Yes I said MySpace (assuming most people think of my space like I think of a Zack Morris cell phone). I looked her up. She had photos of her cute son that I loved. Found out she took them and HAD to have her do my kids. I don’t think I was even married at the time but it turned out that’s what happened (and yes I loved my pictures!). She knew I refinished furniture and asked if I rented my furniture. I didn’t but then I did. I added PROPS to my company and found that there weren’t many crowns for boys when I wanted one for my rental offerings. So I made one…

9. How would you describe your creative process?

Haphazard. Organized chaos. There is usually a method to my madness though.

10. If you could peek inside the studio of any artist, designer or craftsman (dead or alive), who would it be?

Frank Gehry

11. What handmade possession do you most cherish?

Are Jimmy Choo’s handmade?? I got a pair for my wedding. The one and only day anyone in my life would allow my to spend a crazy amount of money on a pair of shoes. They make me feel special when I wear them. Sometimes I click the heels 3 times. Other than those I can’t think of anything handmade.

12. How do you get out of your creative ruts?

Divert my attention to another project laying around my house (garage, basement, living room, bedroom). I always come full circle but sometimes a project has to sit for 8 months…to multiple years…my husband loves that [that’s sarcasm].

13. Where would you like to be in ten years?

In a large nice studio!!!! And not having my husband lecture me for not cleaning up my mess or cluttering our house with furniture he’s not a fan of.

2 thoughts on “Featured Vendor Sundays | LindO Designs Props

  1. photo wedding says:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting!
    Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll.
    I think it will improve the value of my site :).

Spread some blog love!